AUVUA is broken up into three main subteams: Mechanical, Electrical, and Software. Members may participate at any level on any or all of the subteams. Subteam leaders are responsible for setting agendas and tracking progress within their groups.

Officers include President, Vice-President, Secretary, and Treasurer, which retain the traditional responsibilities of those positions. Subteam Leader is a secondary and purely technical leadership position.

AUVUA holds general meetings bi-weekly, usually in Engineering 210.

Subteams are responsible for determining their schedules. This is normally a weekly meeting whose location and time is set at the discretion of the subteam.

The challenges of building complex autonomous mechanical systems requires a very diverse group of students. AUVUA is composed of students representing  not only engineering, but biological, management, physiological, and other non-engineering majors. The relatively high multidisciplinary make-up of the team builds a unique experience for members that otherwise have little interaction with university students outside their fields of study.